Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is argued that people applying for work are asked for personal data like their sporting activities, interests and marital status. However, some believe that it is not necessary to ask for such details. In my own opinion, I strongly believe that it is a good idea to ask for such information before employing people. On the one hand, I agree that business owners should ask for hobbies and marital status from their interviewees because this information allows the employers to know the characters of the people they are going to employ. For instance, if a company needs someone to use a bicycle to deliver newspapers so it is wise to employ one who is interested in riding a bicycle and working outdoors. Furthermore, it is argued that if the employer gets to know the marital status of an interviewee they will be able to get a suitable candidate for the work if they require someone who is not married. For example, employing a person who is single is best for the company if there is a need to relocate, it is cheap for one person without a family to move from one city to another without any hustle unlike if married would need to move with family and it is so inconveniencing to the company. On the other hand, taking personal data from people during interviews can be irrelevant because this kind of selection can disadvantage a company by losing the right person. Thus, the interviewee might be qualified for the work but because their hobbies do not align with the company `s interests they will not get the post. In conclusion, I totally believe that asking for personal data is actually necessary because the company will employ the right fit for the position and also it is easy for a company to make correct decisions if they need to take someone single for the job.