Nowadays, Internet addiction is becoming a common phenomenon. What are causes and effects of this problem?

In current times, the Internet holds a strong grip on people's minds and it is becoming more common as a situation. In this essay, I will talk about various causes that fuel this phenomenon and also the effects that arise due to it. Firstly, we need to accept the fact that in today's era, Internet usage is a necessity as everything is tied to it. For example, many research studies point to the fact that everyone requires it for their daily work and over time such constant usage can lead to a dependency on such an advancement. Many people self-claim that they are somewhat addicted to such stimuli as we humans are evolutionary beings and such modern needs can hijack our dopamine system, leading to withdrawal symptoms on stopping it. Also, on the other side, there is a rise of social media apps which further, fuels this problem and makes people a slave to them. Leaning onto the effect side, many are tied to it such as those of memory and focus problems. For example, psychologists and researchers have proved that with the passing of time, the human attention span is declining. Also, we as individuals are losing our creativity and grit to stick with our issues and find ways to solve them as we are constantly training our neural pathways to quickly use the Internet as a source to get our answers. Overall, in the long run, it can bring down our intelligence and also affect mankind on a massive scale. In conclusion, there is no denying that such progress has helped all of us immensely and brought great discoveries to the world but the same thing can also open an alternate path of destruction as there are always two sides of a coin.