Some people feel that governments should take a large proportion of people’s salaries to pay for necessary public services such as roads and schools. Others feel that high taxes are a bad thing. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In terms of taxes, many consider that increasing them leads to numerous benefits, mainly public goods, such as roads and schools. Others, however, believe that they mostly have negative effects on the economy. Supporters of high taxes argue that the biggest positive thing about them is more funding to public services. Indeed, this allows governments to pay, for example, for constructing and renovating roads, which through increasing effectiveness of transportation positively affect the economy. Also, governments can increase expenditure on construction and operation of schools, colleges and universities. A long term investment in education is likely to positively impact not only the economy of a country, but also the culture. Moreover, high taxes enable more funding into large engineering projects, such as dams. This is especially the case for power stations based on renewable energy sources, such as windmill farms and solar energy farms, mainly because these tend to be not very viable, thus requiring financial support from the government. On the other hand, opposers of high taxes point out a substantial drawback that supporters often overlook - they hurt individuals who are in poverty. Currently, most developed countries, for instance the United States of America, have unfair distribution of taxes for people in different financial situations: it allows the rich to pay a much smaller proportion of their income than the poor. In the long term this might cause drastic negative effects on the whole economy, thus impacting every single person. On balance, despite the fact that currently high taxes do have a negative impact, I believe them to be a good thing, because of their indisputable positive effects on the economy in the long run, on a condition that their unfairness is eradicated. In conclusion, increased taxes affect the economy in both a positive and a negative way, while discussions on this topic still remain controversial.