Some people think that the government's decision to close the land borders in order to boost local production is a great idea. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this decision? What alternative decisions could have been used to boost local production?

The productivity of a country is one of the most important factors to maintain a good economic status. However, with the advent of the liberalization of the market, the price of products changes a lot depending on the worldwide economy. For this reason, somebody believes that closing borders between countries could help to improve local production. In this essay, I will explain which are the advantages and disadvantages of this tendency and I will propose an alternative way of solving the problem. On one hand, the decision to close borders could affect positively the quality of final products. As a matter of fact, overall in the food market, fewer kilometres between producer and consumer means better quality. For instance, maintaining fruits and vegetables during transport between countries is possible using methods like freezing, as a result of bad quality of the final product. On the other hand, the limitation between countries could involve a big waste of products. Sometimes happens that the consumption of a country is not enough. For this reason, the product expires. For instance, a lot of Italian regions are famous for the production of tomatoes. However, the Italian market is too little to consume all the products resulting in a big waste. In conclusion, overall focusing on agriculture production the closure of borders could improve the quality of goods, but it might also create a problem of waste. A good alternative politics could be to put a limit on the kilometres between countries that exchange goods in order to maintain the quality and avoid wasting.