Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matter(such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their wishes. other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Human life is always defined by an unending series of decisions. When it comes to children's decision-making, some hold the view that leaving children to make their own decisions will eventually result in an egocentric society merely seeking its own benefits. However, they are opposed by those assuming that it is crucial for juniors to undertake the responsibility of making choices. In my view, a community of people who are fully aware of the nature of gains and losses in decisions provides a more fertile ground for development. At one end of the continuum, there are people who bestow the freedom of choice upon children. Many of them draw on historical examples of nations, such as the Soviet Union, in which the total absence of any volition for deciding on personal preferences since childhood resulted in an intellectually suppressed society. As a matter of fact, a well-to-do the society, as they propose, is comprised of people who are articulate about their decisions and preferences. Yet, the opponents rebuke the right of youngsters to decide. Many of the proponents of this view believe the human nature is essentially selfish, and if one fails to tame this instinct as at an early age the society will soon be replete with voracious, myopic individuals whose only will is to satisfy their desires regardless of consequences. To them, capitalist countries with a systematic curriculum for educating young students to make decisions is an indicative example. Their societies are usually extremely polarized with a huge rich minority versus poor majority conflict. I personally believe a community proceeds towards perfection only if its members are adroit decision-makers, and this trait needs to be planted into one's characteristics during childhood. History contains myriads of instances of nations, relegated to the status of unquestioned servility, whose lack of critical thinking in decisions has doomed them to catastrophic deterioration. In conclusion while some proposed giving the juniors the right to decide over quotidian matters may turn them into egoistical individuals, there are those who oppose them by highlighting the importance of the power of choice. I personally believe the latter group cannot be closer to the truth as a society ’s progress is defined by the decision its members make.