In many countries, more and more people choose to buy imported food rather than food produced locally. Why people buy imported food? What could be done to encourage people to buy local food?

An increasing number of individuals worldwide opt to purchase food products, which are imported from overseas, instead of locally produced. While there are two primary reasons for this practice such as the absence of some products from markets and the low quality of the local food products, There are some suggestions to tackle this issue like organizing national-scale promotions as well as developing the nation's agricultural and industrial infrastructure to fulfil the demands. On the one hand, one profound reason is the incapacity of growing certain crops. This is because there are some plants, which require special conditions of humidity, temperature, and water supplies, that do not grow in some countries. For instance, due to the absence of sunlight for long periods throughout the year, Norway can not grow rice. Therefore, the Norwegian government exports rice along with other grain crops from Ukraine and Egypt, as both of these countries are considered two of the largest exporters of rice. Another prominent cause would be the low quality of the local food products. When a person goes to markets to do shopping, he would start to compare various food products and finally purchase the best one within budget without looking at the manufacturer's country. A survey conducted by the National Iraqi newspaper revealed that around 65% of the people who were questioned purchased imported food products because of their high quality. On the other hand, there are some suggestions to reverse this situation, one of which is organizing promotional campaigns to let people know and encourage them to purchase locally manufactured food products. Some people may not know that there are high- quality food products that can compete against foreign ones. For instance, when the Iraqi government saw that the local food products were left on the markets' shelves covered with dust without demand, and after attempting several unsuccessful methods, Iraqi officials finally came out with the brilliant notion of organizing national-scale campaigns to promote local food products. As a result, the sales of local food items increased dramatically, whereas the demand for imported ones dropped. Another great thought would be developing the nation's agricultural and industrial infrastructure to produce high- quality products as well as to accommodate the demands. This can be done By constructing highly sophisticated factories with several production lines and purchasing advanced machinery to boost productivity and improve item quality. In conclusion, an escalating number of individuals worldwide prefer to purchase imported food products rather than buying locally manufactured ones. locally produced food items have lower quality than imported ones and the inability of producing some food products like rice are two possible reasons for this trend. Nevertheless, developing the nation's industrial and agricultural infrastructure to fulfil the demand and produce high- quality products as well as investing money to organize promotion campaigns can be viable suggestions to tackle this issue.