Many people assume that the goal of every country should be to produce more materials and goods. To what extent do you agree or disagree that constantly increasing production is an appropriate goal?

The general population believes that a never-ending growth in the production of commodities should be the goal of all nations. While there are some advantages to this I do not think that this should be the thing that a country needs to achieve. Firstly, an increase in the development of products requires the availability of raw materials in abundance. While some regions are gifted with such factors, the same is not true for most areas of the world. Moreover, even if a particular resource is available in excess at a location it still requires a lot of effort to extract it out of its natural source. This process of extraction is often harmful to nature as it disrupts the natural flora and fauna of that area. In addition to that, abundance does not mean that there will be an everlasting supply of any particular material. I believe that there are several other ways to handle such issues which I would be sharing in the following paragraph. People should be focussing on the sustainable growth of their homeland and not just the increase in the number of things that their country produces. A better way to reach a similar goal will be to adopt a policy of reuse, recycle, and reduce. The leaders can work on implementing measures which help decrease the wastage of existing materials, for example, most nations have still not developed systems to utilize solar energy to fulfil the electricity needs of their people and are still using traditional methods like burning coal for the same. Other steps could be to educate the public to repurpose their existing non-biodegradable products, for example, a plastic jug of milk can be used to store water for washing one's car or to water the plants. Society should work towards recycling products like their day-to-day gadgets which have been a major contributing factor to electronic waste. To conclude, constant increase in the production of goods and materials should not be the aim of countries. The focus should be on sustainable growth by making better use of existing resources.