Some people think that all university students sould study whatever they like. Others believe that they shoyld only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

A group of individuals present the view that students should have an opportunity to choose their major based on their interests, whereas others believe that only useful subjects should be taught in universities, including subjects which are relevant to science and technology. I strongly agree with the former opinion. On the one hand, some people justifiably argue that students should have the right to pursue their ambitions. In addition, if admission get encouraged to select a subject based on their passion, they will extremely flourish in that subject which leads to accelerate their development. From a social viewpoint, not only are they seeking for making an innovation, but also they will be had job satisfaction compared to others. For instance, Louis Viton brothers, excelled at making suitcases, therefore they fused their passion and innovation and the result immensely revolutionized this industry with rectangular-shaped suitcases. On the other hand, another group of people debate that students only be permitted to study a subject related to cutting-edge technologies. They insist that these fields are required for the country’s development. However, I do not find this argument convincing as interests and jobs are inextricably intertwined. Thus, if pupils do not find the course interesting, they will be more likely to get depressed to such extent that they may suffer from some mental problems in the long run. Since, despite hardly striving for a higher standard of living, they cannot achieve that as they are unwilling to do their job. To conclude, in my view, the freedom for choosing a subject plays an important role in someone’s prosperity. They tend to combine interest with talent in order to make an innovation. Moreover, pupils are more likely to have mental problems if they do not love their major.