The high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising but not the real need of the society where such products are sold. Do you agree or disagree?

The high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising but not the real need of the society where such products are sold. I agree with this statement to a large extent. Advertising is a powerful tool that can be used to influence people's buying decisions. Advertisers use a variety of techniques to create a sense of need or desire for their products, even if those products are not essential. For example, they may use attractive models, celebrities, or music to create a positive association with the product. They may also use fear or scarcity tactics to make people feel like they need to buy the product now. As a result of advertising, people are often persuaded to buy products that they do not really need. This is especially true for products that are seen as status symbols or that are associated with a certain lifestyle. For example, many people buy expensive cars or designer clothes even though they could get by with less expensive alternatives. Of course, there are also some products that are genuinely needed by people. For example, people need food, clothing, and shelter. However, even these essential products are often advertised in ways that create a sense of need that is not actually there. For example, advertisers may make people feel like they need to buy a new brand of cereal because it is "better for you" or that they need to buy a new type of shampoo because it will make their hair "look amazing." In conclusion, I believe that the high sales of popular consumer goods do reflect the power of advertising, but not necessarily the real needs of society. Advertisers are very good at creating a sense of need for their products, even if those products are not essential. As a result, people are often persuaded to buy things that they do not really need.