Nowadays online shopping has become more popular than in-store shopping. Is it a positive or negative development?

Whilst online shopping used to be less common than in-store shopping, today, the popularity of the former has overtaken that of the latter. From my perspective, online shopping is better than in-store shopping for the reasons specified below. There are many positive reasons why online shopping has been replaced by in-store shopping. For example, online shopping can save time for people who are in a hurry or busy. Additionally, some people cannot go shopping in stores because they do not have access to transport. Furthermore, the weather may be unfavourable and therefore, in-store shopping may not be preferable. Finally, some old people are not very mobile, and have no relatives or friends to help them. Hence, they use online shopping as a convenient alternative. Nevertheless, there are negative consequences to online shopping. Firstly, usage of the internet may reduce employment opportunities in stores. Secondly, there may be technical problems, which may cause online shopping to be intermittently unavailable. Thirdly, online shipments may face problems such as lengthy delays, which may cause problems and inconvenience for consumers trouble. Finally, some people may not have access to mobiles or laptops and so therefore, online shopping may not be an option for them. Further, some people may not have the knowhow with regards to online shopping. In conclusion, online shopping has both positive and negative effects. Whether or not a person opts for online or in-store shopping is dependent on each individual’s personal circumstances. I personally use online shopping because it is more convenient. Therefore, I advise that other people also adopt online shopping.