The most importamt aim of science should be to improve people's life. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement?

Advancement in science has affected every aspect of human life. Although some believe that it is science's responsibility to promote our quality of life, others are against this point of view. In this essay, I will discuss why I disagree with this opinion owing the following reasons: Those in favour of utilizing science in a way to enhance people's comfort believe that human beings should be the priority in every field. They see this universe as materialistic and other species exist to serve them whatever they desire. To illustrate, these individuals invade the environment in order to meet their needs without considering its negative consequences. For example, the public living during the industrial revolution period started using all resources to have a better life which caused air pollution and endangered other crops and animals. On the other hand, others believe that science is responsible in front of other species and should protect the earth from being destroyed. In addition, despite the fact that human is known as an owner of this planet and their reliance on other creatures to be alive, they do not take care of their home, the Earth. Therefore, innovations and discoveries that are conducted should consider their possible effects from financial to environmental. For instance, although nuclear weapons can elevate humans' lives, they can also endanger both humans and other groups. To sum up, based on the reasons cited above, I would like to disagree with the statement. People should change their attitudes toward science and technology to render the best services at every price because this idea definitely would threaten the planet and its inhabitants. It is the government's mission to encourage individuals to balance their standards of living by deep thought about other aspects of life.