There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Generally, parents search for the best school for their children in order to achieve great careers and a good life. Some of these feel that removing some academic subject are feasibility more focused on reaching the craved university. This essay will argue both sides and show why I totally disagree with this viewpoint. Firstly, some people believe that school must have only traditional subjects like maths, history, and science to ensure a better education without distraction. Indeed, teenagers are prone to being distracted by social media and many personal activities, and due to avoid this, some parents prefer to enroll them in schools that do not have extra subjects. For instance, some schools in Rio de Janeiro apply vocational tests in the first year of high school to ensure the correct choice for their student's future to select what class they could be to have excellent grades to do a federal exam to attend universities. Therefore, achieving good results is necessary; for this, the adolescent must have concentration. On the other hand, to build a better society, it is necessary to tie the educational system to families. For this, it is paramount to focus beyond the academic results to prepare a student for real life, and school could play an essential role in maintaining a tremendous psychological health environment. For example, more than half of Brazilian students were diagnosed with anxiety and stress, especially in the last years, due to the high pressure of schools. Some subjects help to improve personal skills, such as theater to their speaking and shyness issues, cooking, and physical education to their health knowledge. Hence, a non-academic subject could contribute to the balance of students' life and bring starling results. In summary, this essay approached the views of removing or not non-academic subjects. Moreover, the conclusion is that students will likely enhance and obtain success if they have stability and no undue stress or pressure.