Some people believe that the personal information of violent criminals should be made available to the public. Others think that this information should be protected. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is a common belief that the background of violent villains should be confidential from society. However, a more persuasive argument is that the residents had better be informed of that information. This is because it can raise people's awareness of the possibilities of crime. On the one hand, some people believe that keeping personal information secret will give violent offenders chances to rebuild their own life. When few individuals have the biography of the criminals, they will no longer be status-discriminated when reintegrating into society. According to some recent research, over 90% of villains whose profiles were protected from the public said that they had no problem with the residents and become better since they left the prison. As a result, they are more optimistic about their future and give up committing crimes again. Nevertheless, it is more advisable to expose the biography of violent criminals to each citizen to give them a wake-up call about the crime. By publishing the private background of the offenders, the government may help people realize the worst perspectives to avoid. For example, in Vietnam, all of the criminal cases of violence are broadcast to the residents so that no more crime about this occurs and the society is always peaceful. Therefore, to both educate people and prevent them from committing crimes, being well-informed about the offenders' profiles is indispensable. In conclusion, although a secret in the background may benefit criminals and help them to remake their life, the residents should still be acknowledged this information because it can restrain and minimise the tendency of crime.