Some people believe that children’s leisure activities must be educational, otherwise they are acomplete waste of time. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

For generations to come, conversations about how to properly raise kids will always pose an argument. With regard to what they must do with their free moment, it is believed by a select few that these activities have to be educational, otherwise, it is useless. This essay will discuss why I strongly think engaging in practices outside of school work can be both relevant and lifesaving. It is essential that children learn how to create a balance between their social life and their school work. When children only engage in tasks that have to do with building them up academically, there is a high tendency for them to grow up ignorant of a lot of challenges in the world. However, if they are made to engage in other forms of activity like swimming, golfing or outdoor camping, they receive a certain level of exposure. For example, as a grade ten teacher, I noticed that those who are from homes that create this harmony thrive academically and socially, as opposed to those who don't. Creating equity is very important. Moreso, some leisure activities can be lifesaving. One very important life skill that is learnt as a young child is swimming. You never can tell when you would need to rescue someone else or yourself from drowning. Research done by Bloomberg showed that over 70% of young successful professionals in New York cannot swim. This begs the question, did they spend all their time studying while their counterparts were engaging in fun but necessary things? These skills are more important than we think. To conclude, while education is important, not all spare time should be spent on intellectual activities only. I strongly believe it is important for a young child to take part in an activity that can be lifesaving, as well as beneficial. If balance can be achieved then it is not time wasted.