As compared to the past, people spend more years in school and enter the workforce much later in life. Describe some of the problems entering the workforce later in life can cause and suggest at least one possible solution.

A few generations ago, it was not uncommon to find people entering the workforce after grade 6. Today, however, the situation is such that often people transition into their professional careers in their late twenties. This trend has resulted in several problems, among which is the growing financial dependence on parents and the artificial extension of childhood. One possible solution is to change the entry requirements for several professional degree programs. Entering the workforce later in life than in the past can cause several problems. One major problem is the prolonged financial dependence on parents. The longer children stay in school and the later they enter their professions, the longer it is that parents will need to pay for their living expenses. This is particularly problematic because child tax benefits end when a child turns 18. In addition, because children are not financially independent until later in life, they will not be as mature as early as their counterparts in previous generations. The possible consequences of such an extension of childhood might be an increase in rates of delinquency in segments of the population. One way to solve the quandary brought about by individuals entering their professions later in life is to alter the requirements to enter certain professional programs. In many countries, prospective medical, law, and pharmacy students need to first acquire an undergraduate degree, which usually takes 4 years to complete. By eliminating this requirement, prospective doctors, lawyers, and pharmacists will be able to start practising 4 years earlier, allowing them to become financially independent and mature earlier. All in all, the delay in entering the workforce has had two major repercussions: prolonged financial dependence on parents and delayed maturity. These problems may be partially addressed by changing the requirements to enter certain professional programs of study.