In many parts of the world today there is a profitable market for products which lighten or whiten people’s skin. Outline the reasons for using such products and discuss what effects they have in terms of health and society.

There are many products and aesthetic services to make people's skin brighten or whiten these days. However, this trend is not just nowadays' fashion. It comes from back in the past. And I think it is not bad for our health but it is bad for our society. In the following, I will explain this view in more depth. In the past, bright or white-coloured skin was the symbol of noble status, who did not work outside. In this point, what I want to make clear is, this is not regarded to the white people. It is just from each country's tradition. In Korea, where I live now, for example, we also have many products for skin lightening. The trend of craving bright skin due to the highest hierarchy comes from the very past, approximately more than 1,000 years ago when Korean didn't know white people.  These criteria of skin tone remain nowadays. For instance, we can still see this situation when people have a bias to dark skin person comes from the countryside and white coloured skin person comes from the urban city. Hence, I suggest that the trend of our skin tones is from our traditional criteria. This is not just recent fashion. I do not think this trend is harmful to people's health. Rather, I think this effort makes people's skin healthier because what they try is like this, making the skin barrier stronger, keeping the inner-side's water sufficient, and supplying many vitamins. Therefore, we can say this kind of concern is good for people's skin health. Nevertheless, however, we are not able to see this trend is also healthy for our society. The typical type of beauty criteria is not good for our community, this makes people see others with prejudice. This is a diverse era so various tones of skin, which is from their originality, have to be respected also. We have to make the world love our own skin tone. To summarize, the trend of brightening or whitening people's skin originates from the past, because of the difference in hierarchy's skin. The effort to make skin brightening or whitening is not bad for our skin health. However, this fashion makes people have unhealthy biases, therefore, in conclusion, I believe that this trend is not good for our society so we need to change this issue.