The most important consideration while selecting a job or career has a high income. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has long been debated what is the most important consideration when selecting a job. Some strongly advocate that high income is certainly in top priority, while others argue that work-life balance and future opportunities are profoundly more significant. Personally, I believe that there are other perspectives than high salary. In this essay, I will elaborate more detail and provide my own viewpoints. These days, the masses usually regard monthly payment as the most crucial factor beyond others in picking one’s position. Indeed, such a choice not only provides financial security but also material comforts that enable individuals to enjoy better goods or services. However, this perception can be misleading and harmful to people’s career development. It is evident that most highly paid positions are considerably challenging and stressful, and thus workers in such circumstances are hardly capable of maintaining a work-life balance. Consequently, such aggressive devotion to work may backfire, resulting in losing something far more precious such as physical health or even marriage. On the other hand, basing on payment to decide on a position in an early stage of one’s career path can be detrimental and wrongful. Although some industries merely offer low payment in the very beginning, when employees master certain skills, their salary grows exponentially. For instance, fostering a plumber actually requires considerable devotion to time and education. In this period, apprentices barely contribute anything to daily work, but merely learning. Hence, beginners are paid lower, while skilled plumbers are paid remarkably higher. Therefore, people should examine various possible factors, then, to reach a conclusion about future paths. In conclusion, though, a highly paid position brings advantages financially, it is also difficult for individuals to maintain a work-life balance and potentially lose their well-being in health and marriage. Furthermore, some valuable chances can be overlooked since their low salary in the first place. As a result, financial benefits should not put in the first priority in choosing jobs.