Some college freshmen find that the courses they choose are not suitable for them. What are the causes of this? What can be done to solve the problem?

A lot of studies show that the withdrawal rate of university freshmen are high recently. This is due to after getting enrolled, students find that the majors are not like what they thought before and then they find out that the courses are not suitable for them. In this essay, we will discuss that reason and how to solve this phenomenon. Firstly, the causes of this problem are choosing the popular majors without second thoughts and did not have enough experiences or knowledge to know themselves well enough. There are a lot of cases that show the younger generation tends to select trending majors such as medicine and electrical engineering as they believe that this will lead to a higher salary after graduating since these are what society needed most nowadays. However, pupils that cannot face death is not suitable to be a doctor, they have to realise this before entering. Another example will be students that who hate programming should not force themselves to study computer science. Overall, this decision done recklessly will result in regret after they start learning about it. The solution is quite simpler than thought, students can talk with seniors that are in related sectors. Moreover, they should look deep into the details that related to their future and ask themselves whether this life is what they wanted. For example, through this contemplation process, they will have chances to make sure that this option is due to their will instead under peer and older generation's influences. In conclusion, freshmen can avoid feeling regret if they can avoid selecting their path without reconsidering. In the meanwhile, they can talk to friends that are older than them to know more about this course to make sure this is what they wanted.