Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary schools to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills. Do you agree or disagree?

Learning is a never-ending process. A select few believe that in schools, significant time is wasted on the theoretical aspect of things than on the practical. In this essay, I aim to elaborate on why I disagree with this school of thought but also acknowledge the views of others. If can do it, then you know it. Growing up, I heard this statement quite a few times among technical college educators. They believed in hands-on methods of learning because, in their opinion, students remembered better when they are shown the operating model of an object as opposed to its theory. When fixing a motor vehicle, for example, an uneducated mechanic who has received training as an apprentice may deliver a better solution as opposed to a mechanical engineer who has spent decades in the university. So maybe we do not necessarily need to spend hours in classes, but actually get our hands dirty. While this analogy may have some level of truth to it, I cannot eliminate the fact that theory is needed for a successful practical. To properly manifest a learned skill, you must have spent years of research and studying in order to prevent avoidable mistakes. What makes a successful surgeon? It is years and years of studying, coupled with a series of exams and internships. They only fully understand the human body because hours on end were spent by these doctors reading about what organ is located where, how to alleviate emergencies and what medications to administer. Moreover, no one would want an under-read surgeon operating on them. This re-instates my conviction that in order to be great at a skill, dwelling on the theoretical concept is more important. In conclusion, while the desire to learn is everlasting, the mode of delivery is just as important. Time spent on learning the theory is never wasted as it is needed to be great at what you do. You don't just do a thing because you can, you learn to become.