Despite improved access to education, many adults still lack literacy skills. In what ways are they disadvantaged? What can governments do to help them?

In modern society, although people have more opportunities to access education, a number of adults can not read and write. This phenomenon has led to some demerits in society and it is the government’s responsibility to adopt some solutions to tackle them. On the one hand, lacking literacy skills might cause some disadvantages for people. Initially, illiterate people are unable to find a job in the labour market. It is because the target of recruitment is finally to find candidates with a wide range of knowledge and high qualification, so there are no companies willing to hire them. Moreover, people lacking literacy skills might easily get into problems as they can not understand the law of a nation. For instance, when they get unfair treatment, it would be harder to ask for help from authorities because they can not read and write. On the other hand, the government should provide some methods to tackle this problem. Firstly, it is necessary to fund more classes in the community to teach illiterate people. By doing that, more people will take the chance to improve their reading and writing skills. In addition, the government should establish more non-profit legal centres to help them in case of being treated unfairly so that we can enhance the balance among people from different social classes. To conclude, the lack of literacy skills might lead to some disadvantages in society and the government should apply some solutions to increase the knowledge of the population and supply more legal services to help the people who can not read and write overcome their problems.