Some people think that older school children should learn a wide range of subjects and develop knowledge. Others think that they should only study a small number of subjects in details. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Education plays an important role in students' life. There is an opinion that older schoolchildren should have a variety of classes at school, rather than a few. This essay will explore the reasons for both points and provide my opinion. There are some benefits for older children to having numerous subjects. Firstly, when teenagers have a range of classes it gives them an opportunity to explore new topics in different fields. For example, if the students focus on studying only engineering subjects, they may lack a sense of direction once they get lost in an unfamiliar city, as they have not studied enough geography. Moreover, focusing on only a few subjects might turn some individuals into narrowed-minded people, because they can only participate in discussions they feel knowledgeable and confident. On the other hand, having few subjects at school leads to more qualitative education. It happens simply because older children devote their time to studying essential disciplines without being distracted by other subjects. This will give teenagers knowledge about concrete subjects in detail which means they can become professionals in different fields with limited but qualitative knowledge and skills. For instance, in Australia if people want to achieve success in jobs like a roofer or an iron and steel worker, they simply do not need to study other subjects relative to their profession. In conclusion, although learning as many subjects as possible at school holds merit, that can bring distraction and confusion. I truly believe that having fewer but more detailed subjects will provide a student with the opportunity to focus on necessary subjects and bring more benefits in future in terms of a working career.