Many people believe that formal 'pen and paper' examinations are not the best method of assessing educatoinal achievement. What is your view of examinations?

Examinations are considered as an objective approach to evaluate learning outcomes, as paper-based tests are widely adopted due to its effectiveness. However, some claim that it is unjustifiable to gauge students’ performance merely by few pieces of test papers. In Asian society, high school pupils usually attend cram schools in order to obtain a higher score in written exams, indicating that they could not meet high grading standard with what they have learned at schools, which implies that the traditional exam results are not representative assessment of the learning progress at schools. Teenagers sacrifice extracurricular activities and their leisure time for studying, probably giving rise to sleep insufficiency. Furthermore, an unignorable proportion of young individuals suffer from stress and anxiety caused by heavy workload. It is worth pondering that whether formal “pen and paper” examinations are able to accurately reflect the potential of the test takers. Alternative methods may compensate the shortcomings of conventional testing systems. For instance, examinees could demonstrate not only their educational attainments but also communication skills during the oral test. In addition to theoretical knowledges, science learners attach equal importance to experimental techniques; therefore, a practical exam is an essential means of evaluation. Instead of memorizing complex concepts, students should be examined if they could apply their learning to real problems. Hence project-based assignment could be introduced into the examination system. In conclusion, it is inappropriate to perceive written test score as the only indicator of academic achievement. Multiple strategies should be conducted to comprehensively assess the ability of students and subsequently assist individuals with discovering destined calling.