Plagiarism in academics has become a pressing problem in many countries today. What are the causes of this problem? What are some possible solutions?

Many are concerned with the current state of plagiarism in universities and academic fields. In this essay, I would argue that the root causes of this phenomenon might be the unrealistic expectations tutors have of the students as well as peer pressure that may exist. To tackle this issue, lowering what the teachers are expecting of their learners is vital, and further trying to develop a fashion of hardworking and persistence and deterring jealousy could be fruitful in combating falsification. Looking at possible causes of the problem of stealing academic materials, one of the most important drivers of this behaviour is the high bar educators established for their admission. It is because faculty are often comparing their class members with other successful samples whereas there are various factors that can contribute to the difference between individuals or classes such as the level of wealth or their prior knowledge of the subject. Hence, the expectation would eventually lead to the pupil's frustration resulting in infringement in their assignments. Secondly, the characteristics and traits of classmates inside an institution can play a vital role in the trainees’ viewpoint toward education. For example, if the culture inside an institution is shaped in a way that encourages scholars to cheat and mock those who try to do their assignments by themselves, subsequently it would be difficult for learners not to commit plagiarism. By contrast, those experiencing a perception of hard work and honesty often cultivated the trait of being lawful in their work. However, there could be a number of possible courses of action to remedy the situation. Firstly, reducing the high expectation of teachers by means of introducing a nationwide curriculum may be a viable option to tackle this problem. These national educational standards can often standardize assignments and the grading system of a course and therefore easing the conditions for pupils and give the opportunity to learn at their desired pace. In Japan, for instance, the authorities have laid out a nationwide curriculum for mathematical education in high schools and consequently Japanese students are often regarded as the most successful mathematical learners worldwide. In addition, the negative traits of peers inside an institution that can result in cheating namely indolence and jealousy should be specifically targeted. By eradicating these characteristics from an educational centre, hardworking scholars could gain the chance to shine and pull their classmates in the right direction, which is being lawful and honest in their work. In conclusion, plagiarism is a phenomenon mainly shaped by totally unrealistic high expectations of teachers as well as the pressure from others who are directed by their trait of laziness often created by unproductive culture. To modify the issue, designing a standard set of bars for students to follow, besides eradicating negative traits, could be a possible solution.