The most important aim of science should be to improve people's lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Many people have strong opinions about what is the most crucial goal of science and technology. I completely disagree with the idea that improving citizens’ lives is the most vital use of science, and I am going to consider below two arguments to support my position. In my opinion, the main reason is that science plays a vital role in breaking through outstanding problems in some expertise, which is not only in people's lives but also in some meaningful areas, such as medicine and spaceflight. This means that science can help people figure out some unsolved questions that are very difficult to calculate by hand and human brains, which in turn cause a rapid development in academics and society of the world. For example, global warming is a serious problem that needs to work out which uses a lot of science and technology to reduce the discharge of carbon by scientists. Fortunately, nowadays, there are many advance solutions and innovations to cope with it, such as electronic cars. The second reason is that science also can be beneficial to the safety of society which is the fundamental basis of our daily life. If science could be used appropriately and widely by the government to protect citizens and construct organization systems, this would improve the productivity of civil servants immediately and efficiently, which could have a positive impact on the progress of the country and society. For example, through the use of big data, the polices are likely to hand out criminal cases and catch offenders, which could be an efficient and effective way to improve society and individual safety. With the technology of network security, it protects us from hackers and information leakage, which in turn guards our freedom and privacy. Consequently, I fundamentally disagree with the idea that improving residents’ lives is the most important aim of science. Despite the fact that increasing the environment and standard of citizens’ lives is crucial and necessary, there are still some fields that need science which is more important than that.