It has been observed that in many countries not enough students are choosing to study science subjects at university. What do you think are the causes of the problem? What are the effects on society?

Lacking students choosing to study science in universities and colleges is becoming more widespread in many parts of the world. This essay will examine the factors as well as the consequences related to this issue. There are a variety of different causes for this matter. To begin with, these subjects are usually more difficult and challenging, which requires students to make much effort in their studies. This means that science subjects seem to be less attractive to students compared to economics or business. For example, my friend who studies a course in Biology often confuses me that he had to conduct too many experiments and complete numerous strict projects all the time, which prevented him from having any leisure time. Another contributing factor to mention is that as there are currently fewer employment opportunities available for graduates in science fields, learners are less likely to decide to select these majors. Instead, they tend to choose other subjects which allow them to find jobs more easily. Unexpectedly, there are some significant consequences to be taken into consideration. The first and most important is that when fewer students decide to learn about science, there would be a serious shortage of employees working in these fields. As a result, this would lead to fewer technological developments, which would also prevent improvements in people’s life quality. For instance, it would be difficult for humans to produce newer smartphones or high-tech devices with better functions. Another effect no less important is that besides a significantly increasing number of students choosing other subjects such as business and economics to study rather than science, it results in the number of job vacancies in these areas being limited. Therefore, many university graduates would have to face unemployment, which increases the burden on society. In conclusion, the shortage of students choosing science subjects is a big problem affecting a lot of people nowadays. It’s mainly caused by complicated and demanding requirements for these subjects as well as employment availability. From what has been discussed, while it leads to a decrease in employees working in fields significantly and minimizes job vacancy opportunities, it is advised that pupils should positively choose science which can help in the development of the economy and reduce the consequences of this problem.