There was a time when people only shopped out of necessity, but these days shopping seems to have become a new form of leisure activity. People don't appreciate the value of money anymore. To what extent dou you agree with this view?

Many opine that there is a loss of value of money since the current trends that allow people to shop as a leisure activity, converse to how in older times, it was majorly a chore or a mere necessity. I partially disagree with the argument considering the fact that despite shopping now being an act of leisure, it does not always mean the value is wrongly assumed. To commence, wealth can buy anything now. The spenders are mostly youngsters who want to make their lives easier and therefore chose to spend capital instead of labour or time. For instance, the act of chopping does not have to be done manually and machines for the same can be bought without hassle, subsequently increasing the need to purchase them. Businesses these days are very concerned about the consumers, consequently increasing the amount of money splurged on them. They offer discounts, introduce fast fashion and sell anything and everything, which answers the question of why it has become a leisure activity. To illustrate, research from 2021 concluded that retail turnover has tripled in comparison to 2020. My overall opinion remains to be that there isn't any value for money lost in the process of shopping becoming a leisure activity instead of it being a requirement. As time would progress, so will the businesses, and so will the act of spending fortunes on them.