We should stop wasting money on alternative energy sources (for example, solar and wind power) because they are too unreliable to ever replace coal and oil. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, the idea of alternative energy sources become a trend. People have different views about it. While there are some people who doubt its efficiency, I believe that it may be a blessing rather than a curse. On the one hand, there are several concerns about alternative energy systems such as solar, wind and hydroelectricity. Firstly, they don’t produce enough energy to meet our needs. Secondly, renewable energy has high upfront costs. In other words, if we rely on alternative energy systems and get rid of fossil fuels such as coal and oil, society would lose the ability to run appliances and public transportation. Thus, the process of developing alternative energy must be gradual, in order to avoid the economy hitting the rock bottom. On the other hand, developing alternative energy sources lead to sustainable energy systems. At present, we burn fossil fuels to generate electricity, and it exposes a huge amount of exhaust fumes which harm the environment and public health. There will be no greenhouse gasses or other pollutants created during the process of generating alternative energy. However, coal power stations, for example, release high volumes of carbon dioxide directly into the atmosphere. It will destroy the environment by exhausting air pollution that falls to the ground during rain, and waste materials created during the production process. In other words, the alternative energy system is eco-friendly and gives our Earth clean air and water back. Overall, I disagree with stopping the development of alternative energy system which is environmentally friendly. However, the development of alternative energy should occur gradually to ensure both sustainability and effectiveness.