Nowadays business face problems with new employees who have just finished their education and lack some interpersonal skills such as the ability to work in a team. What do you think is the main cause of the problem? How can it be resolved?

Recently businesses have been facing a lot of problems with freshers, mainly in the area of interpersonal skills and team work. This is rooted in the increasing competition, online education and lack of empathy. Over the past decade, there has been a substantial rise in online education and the availability of resources online. Concurrently, students need lesser help from their fellow companions for problem-solving or resource sharing. Thus boiling down their friendships to mere competitions when it comes to education and jobs. Furthermore, the increasing cost of living and difficulty to find jobs fuel the fire of this competition. Subsequently, when they start as new joiners due to a lack of need to work in a team and always trying to prove themselves better than others, causes them to lack the team-spirit and interpersonal skills needed in a good working environment. Various organisations have started mandating interpersonal skills training during the onboarding period. This helps the new joiners not only learn the skills needed to function in an organisation but also explain the ways to effectively communicate. In addition, regular team -bonding exercises can also help in breaking the ice among the new joiners and seniors, thus establishing personal connections among the employees. Parallely, organisations can start a buddy system through which each new joiner has to work initially with a buddy for his or her first few assignments this would help not only train the newbie but also help him adapt to working in a team. For instance, some companies, do mock emergency drills in teams of size 2 to 4 every time a new person joins. Conclusively, the lack of empathy learning opportunities in schools and universities, paired with increasing competition leads to students being individual performers. And this missing interpersonal skills can be taught to them via mandatory training, team assignments, buddy systems and mock drills.