Some people feel that manufacturers and supermarkets have the responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging of goods. Others argue that customers should avoid buying goods with a lot of packaging. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

A number of individuals feel that the onus of packing the goods lies fully on the producers and other stores. However, the other half of the population believes that the consumers should also make a wise selection while buying the items. In my opinion, both sellers and buyers share the collective responsibility in reducing different layers of packaging. On the one hand, manufacturers and convenient stores have full and direct control to decide the levels of packaging as well as build eco-friendly packing. When producing products that are delicate in nature, they should also conduct research and development which facilitates less layers of packing alongwith safety of the particular item. For instance, innovative ways should be discovered to pack the glass items without involving multi-level covering. Furthermore, R&D will also help to develop sustainable packing options that can be recycled as well. On the other hand, consumers also play a crucial role in reducing packaging waste. The end-users should opt for alternative choices that does not involve a lot of wrapping. This will not only promote reduced packing but will also force the production companies to develop effective covering. For example, they can switch to buying more environment friendly packed goods. Hence, customers can also exercise their power to influence the product packaging. To conclude, managing product packaging remains a popular concern. I strongly believe that it is a shared responsibility and not just the matter of concern for the manufacturers. Research on the part of the producing units and wise choices on customer's part can tackle excessive wrapping.