Many countries today are expecting high level of migration from rural area to cities what are the causes of this trend, and what effects does it have on the existing city dwellers?

Considering the increase in industrialization among countries. Therefore, the population is moving from countryside towards cities. People migrate to find not only better work opportunities but also better education opportunities. This migration have some negative impacts on urban resident. They not only suffer from high traffic congestion but also face an increase in rental charges. In general, one of the major causes of migration of people from rural areas towards cities is employment. Mainly the majority of industries are located near cities, so employment opportunities in cities are relatively higher compared to rural areas. Moreover, the government also make economic zones near the main cities to attract foreign investor in starting an industry in these economic zones. For instance, the Gwadar Economic Zone is created by the government of Pakistan to attract Chinese investors. Likewise, another major cause of this migration is the quality of education. Top ranked educational institutes have their campuses in the city center. As a result, the quality of education in cities is better in comparison to sub-urban and rural areas. For example, Top 15 educational institutes in Pakistan are located in big cities of Karachi, Lahore and Islamabad. On the other hand, several consequences of this migration are faced by urbanite. One of the main impacts they face is the traffic pile up. However, as the masses start relocating from rural region towards metropolitan. As a result, we observe a significant increase in number of automobiles causing traffic blockage at various locations. For instance, daily traffic jams in Litton Road, Rome caused people to take longer route from the Rex Highway. Another challenge that the civic resident encounter is the increase in property’s rental rates. This is due to the fact that demand of renting residential and commercial property increases. Furthermore, brokers utilize this opportunity to sub-let the property to different people. For example, rental rates in the city of Karachi has been doubled compared to last year. To conclude, the search of better career positions and learning options have resulted in huge shift of population from villages to cosmopolitan centers. However, this leads to an increase in challenges faced by the town residents.