Some people believe that to protect local culture, tourism should be banned in some areas whereas others think that change is inevitable and banning tourism will have no benefits. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

The ban on tourism for cultural preservation has been a topic of heated debate for decades. Although the ban can have many potential positive effects on culture, I would argue that it may do more harm than good. On the one hand, banning tourism can help protect local culture in a number of ways. First, tourism has caused a variety of environmental issues. In fact, the increasing number of littering, such as plastic bottles, bags and packaging, has caused contamination in many popular tourist attractions, which not only harms the health of indigenous people but also puts marine animals in danger. Second, numerous historical sites have been damaged by a part of modern tourists. For example, Stonehenge in England has been closed to the public since many visitors carved historic stone monuments into small pieces of stone to bring back as souvenirs. On the other hand, the ban on tourism has many significant drawbacks to countries and their people as a whole. Since tourism can generate income all year long and create more employment, banning it may be harmful to the national economy of a country to a great extent. For instance, tourism accounts for approximately 40% of the national economy in Maldives, ensuring its economic security and stability every year. In addition, if tourism is banned, there would be a lack of mutual understanding and unification among humans. In fact, since tourism has the special ability to bring together people from various backgrounds, countries, traditions and cultures, restricting it can rip society apart, causing more conflicts and higher tension among human beings. In short, both views appear reasonable to a certain extent. However, I believe that the ban may do more harm than good since tourism is offering broad-based benefits to both individuals and countries.