In the future, people may no longer able to pay for things in shops using cash. All payments may have to be made by card or using phones. Do you think this will happen one day? Why do you think some people might not be happy to give up using cash?

Recently, payment method has been extended to a form of virtual transaction by using cards or smartphones to pay digitally. With this, many have predicted that all payments in the future may have to be made using those methods. Personally, I do not see this as a case because cash will always be an essential form of payment. Firstly, I believe that it is impossible for cash payment to become obsolete in the future because physical currencies have been a long-running tradition of payment since the dawn of civilization; it is proven to be successful and efficient. For example, if you accidentally left your phone at home, cash can be extremely useful for occasions like these. So while paying with digital mediums can be proficient, cash will always remain an essential form of payment. Secondly, as of now, cash seems to be the simplest form of payment out there, there are no lengthy transactions or technical issues, just straight cash swiftly delivered directly, which is exactly why it is incredibly difficult for many people to switch from it to digital payment immediately. The philosophy behind this is: why give up efficiency for proficiency, Transactions should be a quick and simple exchange between two opposing parties, with no need for extra work. The only time that a digital transaction can be justified is when handled in a large quantity; for example, mega-corporate projects require a huge sum of money to be transferred immediately, and a digital deposit can accomplish this sufficiently and cleanly. In conclusion, circling back to the first paragraph, my theory still holds strong for me. It is undeniable that virtual transactions will become more prevalent in the future but cash will never cease to exist; so no, I wholeheartedly disagree with the prediction.