Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries. What are the reasons for this problem? What are the effects on society?

These days in most nations, few scholars opt for science courses in their future studies and this can be a result of a lack of interest and the high cost of scientific courses, which has a negative effect on society as they will depend on other countries for answers to problems. In the world today, most individuals find it difficult to select experimental subjects because they lose focus, which can be due to the environment in which they learn. For example, I have a personal experience during my secondary education, where I lost interest in most science subjects because I don't like my school and the lectures teaching those topics, this made me only read to pass but not really know what science is all about. So one can continue with such an attitude and totally lack the courage to further these courses. Another reason is that, it is expensive, due to the fact that it's involved practical aspects where one has to carry out experiments for better understanding, and the reagents are not cheap. This could discourage an individual who finds it difficult to further their education after high school, hence they select careers that they can afford. Furthermore, this trend will result in an independent society becoming dependent on other nations for solutions to their worries. For,example most developing countries in Africa lack good research centres and scientists to carry out investigations on the origin of some diseases and cures, so they depend on the developed States with such capacity to bring answers, while they accept whatever that was given to them. So in such,cases if they have enough researchers and facilities, they won't rely on others and prevent delays before getting the work done. Conclusively, in some countries, loss of interest and financial retraining made fewer undergraduates go for scientific subjects, which may result in a society becoming vulnerable. It is necessary for the government to offer financial support to individuals who are interested in skill study and supervision at the high school level.