Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing ( for example through cellphone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

While some people have an opinion that there is an increase in technological advancement in recording human’s voices and actions, others are not aware of this. I believe that there are numerous benefits of technological development, such as security for human life, but there are also drawbacks. Both sides will be discussed in the following paragraphs. There are many reasons why people think that the growth spreading of high-tech gadgets tends to interfere with people’s lives. The main threat is the invasion of privacy caused by the utilization of autonomous intelligence to monitor everything that occurs in the world, including human activity. For instance, everyone must notice that if we speak about certain topics on the phone and repeat specific words, we will see advertisements about these things more often than others. Thus, this fact leads to disagreements between active technologists and those who think that modern machines are harmful to people. On the other side, technology is a great way to improve human’s lives and help in their daily routine or work. For example, in the majority of shopping centers, supermarkets, or huge boutiques, cameras are located to help managers. By using this automated machinery, all employees and even customers are overseen by supervisors, which minimizes shoplifting and controls staff efficiency. In daily life, those who own a personal automobile often acquire a car DVR, which assists the driver and records not only videos but also sounds. As a matter of fact, this device is a great service in case of accidents, for the reason that by watching the recordings from the DVR, the police will be able to identify the perpetrator of the collision faster. To sum up, I admit that although there are a few risks associated with being monitored without awareness, it undoubtedly has extensive advantages.