Today much of the food people eat gets transported from farms that are thousands of miles away. Some people believe it would be better for the environment and the economy if people only consumed food produced by local farmers. Would the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In various countries around the world, some individuals prefer depending on local agricultural products to exported ones. While this can offer a benefit to the environment, I believe that the economic drawbacks are more significant. To begin with, the only advantage of consuming local farmer products is the competitive price of those products. In other words, such local commodities are cheaper because there is no additional budget spent on transportation. For instance, the total costs will drop. Therefore, this can be considered an economical option for some people. Conversely, one of the major disadvantages of depending only on locally produced food is that farmers cannot grow all types of vegetables and fruits. There are numerous factors that can hinder the farming process. For example, the ambient temperature and soil composition can allow certain crops to grow while they might not suit other types. Consequently, there will be high demand in the local markets for several commodities that were not farmed locally. Similarly, another drawback is that implementing such a decision can destroy the economic situation of many countries which depends on agriculture only. For example, the recent war against Ukraine exposed the importance of this nation to the whole world, since Ukraine comes in second place in producing whole wheat. In conclusion, the disadvantages of depending only on local produce food are of greater significance than the advantage. Despite the fact that it will reduce the commodities price, it will lead to a shortage of supplies, besides, can have devastating effects on the economic status of nations.