Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

One of the widely discussed issues nowadays is the type of punishment used in various kind of crime. It is undeniable that the law has become an essential part of our life. Nevertheless, there is no absolute agreement on whether punishment should be fixed for each type of crime or it should vary depending on crime circumstances. A commonly held belief is that the only one punitive measure should be set for each sort of crime. As evidence of this they point that criminals should be punished as strict as possible regardless of their motive and the crime level. Furthermore, excluding lawbreakers from the society for any crime provides a community safety contributing to a peaceful social life. It could be explained by the fact that if citizens were aware that criminals may face long year sentences behind bars they would not participate in any action to break the law. As a result, it leads to the fact that most of people avoid committing a crime due to the fear of spending years in jail. On the other hand, some individuals claim that there can be exceptions related to judging a murderer. For instance, they may mention that some could kill in self-defense or by mistake. In addition, sometimes people could fake documents or get involved in work against the law because of lack of knowledge. The explanation lies in the fact that there could be different conditions during the crime commitment which should be judged unique. Therefore, judges are entitled to give them fair punishment as long as they did not endanger others. In conclusion, taking everything mentioned into account I would argue that punishments should be flexible and judged fairly and honestly.