Some cities have vehicle-free days when private cars, trucks and motorcycles are banned from the city center. People are encouraged to use public transportation such as buses, taxis and metro on vehicle-free days. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is no doubt true that traffic pollution is getting more and more popular in some cities centre, leading to the government launched a campaign that encourages people to use public transportation instead of their personal vehicles. From my perspective, the disadvantages of the phenomenon far outweigh the advantages in equal measure. The first benefit of this trend towards the prohibition of private vehicles is that making impacts significantly on environmental pollution. Particularly, the usage of cars, trucks, and motorbikes is diminished, resulting in the amount of greenhouse gas emissions emitted into the atmosphere. To be more specific, a single bus shuttle can serve more than fifty people, which otherwise would be the drivers of fifty cars or motorcycles. A further argument is that it is likely to affect transportation, in other words, the working force is often used their own vehicle to go to work or go home at peak hours, consequently, this causes traffic congestion in some big urban. Despite the positives mentioned above, it seems to me that the restriction of private means of transport is a negative development. Firstly, commuting with their own vehicle instead of public transport is more private and convenient for them. A typical example is that if you used a bus to go to the company, you would wait for the programmed bus, and might be late for work. Furthermore, there is a risk of being pickpocketed or getting sick as you have to crowded on the bus. Finally, this plan could not be ineffective for smaller countries with conveyance options, and can make traffic jams over peak hours. In conclusion, banning the usage of private vehicles could solve traffic pollution but it’s not convenient for some people and makes daily traffic jams in smaller towns.