Many people believe that scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the governments rather than private companies. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It’s widely accepted that conducting scientific research is a typical high income with high risks project, while the governments are capable to undertake the risk of scientific research and provide sufficient capital for scientists to complete their research. However, I disagree with the claim that the governments ought to dominate all the scientific research. On the one hand, the governments have an undeniable responsibility for research in some key areas. For one thing, research into nuclear technology, national defense or military intelligence is in the national interest or involves high levels of secrecy and should be carried out only by the government. Additionally, in basic scientific research, which is directed purely towards the advancement of knowledge, or where results cannot be guaranteed, there is little incentive for the private sector to invest in these areas and therefore the governments take the leading role. However, the aforementioned examples do not automatically mean that this situation should be suitable under all circumstances. There are some reasons for private companies to participate in scientific research. To begin with, research is done more efficiently by private companies due to the fact that they are profit driven, pushing them try their best to enhance successful rate. Every dollar is spent wisely to ensure maximum benefits and every resource is used effectively to avoid waste. Furthermore, based on the market-oriented approach of private companies, the outcomes they have developed are closely associated with the market need. Also, excessive government intervention may affect scientists' thought and limit their ability to freely create. In conclusion, for some research that involves national security issues or projects with low probability of return, it’s responsible for governments to manage. But in other cases, such as developing new products, private companies may perform better.