Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now “one big traffic jam”. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from owning cars?

It is true that each individual generally owns one car minimum, which causes traffic jams to become a common phenomenon. In my opinion, this statement is totally reasonable because the price of cars has decreased significantly, besides, governments can amend certain policies in order to discourage the desire of purchasing cars. The world is described as a big traffic jam because car price has decreased significantly, therefore, automobiles are no longer unaffordable. Within three decades, the technological innovation faced significant success, and the materials used in cars are cheaper than previously, which also affects the car price drop as well. Subsequently, the effortlessness of affording an automobile affects the whole society, and the number of cars increases significantly. As well as cars are not expensive, the culture slightly changed to encourage individuals to own more cars as well. However, governments have certain ways to discourage people from owning cars. Firstly, by tax, governments can raise the car tax to lower the purchase rate. This countermeasure has been used on cigarettes for the same purpose and show significant success. Take the same method one car ownership, undoubtfully, the situation will reach the expectation as well. By reducing parking spots, secondly, people will take public transportation more frequently than driving their own vehicles. Currently, parking spots are incredibly enormous, and drivers can park their cars wherever they want. By cutting down its amount, public transportation will be far more convenient than cars and individuals will be more willing to commute by it. In conclusion, even though the cheap automobile market causes car ownership to increase, governments can implement raising taxes or eliminating parking spots to discourage people from owning cars. The quantity of car ownership will definitely have an impact after the government changed its policy.