Many educational institutions give greater importance to subjects related to science and ignore subjects such as drama and literature. Is this a positive or a negative development?

In recent years, there has been a shift among an increasing number of universities, putting a higher emphasis on science and leaving majors like drama and literature behind. While I personally support this tendency,there are some significant points to consider, which I'm going to examine in the forthcoming paragraphs.    On the one hand, advancements in modern science have resulted in fruitful benefits to enjoy, which have changed people's lives profoundly. The invention of smartphones was one of those breakthrough discoveries that enabled us to shorten the communication distance considerably, as now watching events unfold from other sides of the world can be done in a matter of seconds. For instance,applications such as Facebook or Twitter bring one up-to-date about important occasions happening millions of kilometres away. On the other hand, abandoning literature can result in poor performance in critical and creative thinking skills. The more a person reads, the more information he possesses, leading to an increased pace in processing complex data and situations. To put it in other words, a human being able to contemplate outside the box should broaden his mind beyond scientific and materialistic views. Thus, acquiring knowledge about famous writers such as Shakespeare will enrich one's mind in terms of psychological and social perspectives.  In conclusion, it seems fair to give a greater priority to science, as it is accompanied by positive effects like staying up-to-date with important events, but the reality of the situation is more complicated. Perhaps we all should strive to do the best work we can and not bother ourselves with a lot of questions.