Some people regard video games as harmless fun, or even as a useful educational tool. Others, however, believe that video games are having an adverse effect on the people who play them. In your opinion, do the drawbacks of video games outweigh the benefits?

Although some people believe that video games are beneficial for an individual and consider them a learning tool, other thought that it is detrimental to the user. In my opinion, video games do have more disadvantages compared to advantages. Starting with the benefits it helps to develop soft skills such as critical thinking and problem-solving skills. While playing these games individual tries to solve the mystery, results will think out of the box and eventually will solve the obstacle which was coming his or her way. For example, a study by the New York Times proved that children who indulge in video games are more likely to solve the problem compared to non-gamers. Even though it helps to polish soft skills, the physical health of gamers is totally the opposite of that. As video games do require long sitting hours and only hand movements, which adversely affect the spinal cord and other joints causing various health issues like back pain, joint pain, and many more. According to the report by World Health Organization physical pain among new generations has increased because of less physical activity. Adding more, the interest of people in computer games affects their social skills. Because these computer games are so addictive that gamers would tend to enjoy their own company rather than indulging in social activities. To illustrate this the survey by Harvard University claimed that the number of divorces has increased over the past two decades because of the e- games. In conclusion, society would be benefitted from electronic games only if it would be handled carefully, however, most of the time they will arise physical and social problems which cause destruction and disturbance in human life.