Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to comsume less sugar.

It is well-known that more and more individuals are suffering from chronic conditions such as obesity, diabetes and heart diseases, which can be caused by high simple-carbohydrate diets. Often, this type of high-calorie diet is a cheaper alternative for some crowd. This essay will describe why increasing the price of such products will be beneficial for our health. On the one hand, it is understandable why consumers have a high intake of sugary products. They are normally affordable, which attracts many consumers in buying them. Compared to healthy foods, high-calorie/sugar ones contain sugar and other 'factory' ingredients, which do not cost a lot for the producers. Hence, they can be sold relatively cheaply. Furthermore, the brain needs simple carbohydrate for its energy. Therefore, the more we eat them, the more brain rewards we get. As such, it can be addictive. However, a high amount of consumption of these can increase the community's risk of chronic diseases. In order to strike a balance to minimise these types of foods, they should be sold relatively expensive. As purchasers buy them due to their cheap price, this method should encourage people from buying them less often. Consequently, this will reduce their risk of chronic illnesses. To conclude, high-sugary meals are very affordable and addictive to some people. Nonetheless, they can increase the risk of certain conditions. As such, putting more prices on them can prevent purchasers from buying them very often and ultimately avoid the chance of prolonged health conditions.