The use of mobile phone is as antisocial as smoking. Smoking is banned in certain places so mobile phone should be banned like smoking. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, the use of mobile phones is considered equally objectionable as smoking and so a ban on its usage at some places is being considered. Although I agree that mobile phones do have some negative aspects, but I completely oppose the ban on their use and the reasons for the same are eluciditaed further in this essay. On the one hand, it is true that mobile hampers productivity and even act as a distraction. For instance, studying or working while keeping the phone notifications onn can seriously divert the focus from one's goal leading to low productivity. In addition, a lot of productive time is wasted while scrolling through various apps on this device. Furthermore, it can lead to poor quality relationships as people hardly spend time off from their phone with their family which affects social skills. Despite the drawbacks, the advantages are definitely more and so there should not be a ban on its usage. Firstly, mobile phones can be very helpful during the emergency situations. For instance, one needs a mobile phone to call the ambulance if there's a medical emergency. Secondly, it helps people stay connected across the globe irrespective of the place a person is in. For example, an individual who is living in a different country can stay connected with his friends and family. Moreover, smoking has more detrimental ill effects on physical health whereas there are no such issues which arises with phone usage. To conclude, even though mobile phones come with some negatives, I am sure non of the side effects are as fatal as that of smoking. Hence, I strongly feel that putting a ban on something which is more useful than its minus points is completely unreasonable.