Some people think that schools should remove art classes and focus on more important subjects such as mathematics and science. Do the advantages of cutting art classes outweigh the disadvantages?

Regarding modern education, some argue that the removal of art classes can be beneficial for the focus on natural sciences subjects, which are usually considered of greater importance. In my opinion, I believe there are more negatives than positives if this trend occurs. To begin with, it is understandable why some may posit the idea of removing art classes. One reason for this is the overwhelming intensity of many schools’ curricula. In fact, nowadays, students are required to study various subjects, ranging from social to natural sciences. As a result, their performance may suffer due to such a heavy program. Second, art -related courses might not be the prerequisite for top universities. For instance, in Vietnam, the majority of prestigious institutions and universities require high grades for practical subjects, such as maths and science, which contributes largely to students’ choice of courses. Thus, it is logical for some to support the cutting of the subject of art. However, I am convinced that art plays an integral role in education. First, while it can be tiring for students to tackle many subjects, art and music in general, provide an opportunity for them to wind down and relax. This has been proven many times by various research and studies as such subjects can be significantly stress-relieving. As a matter of fact, my friends and I at school enjoy art periods the most due to that nature as we become revitalized after long study hours. Furthermore, despite some universities’ requirements, there are also many alternative admission opportunities available for students to choose from nowadays, which specifically emphasize artistic abilities. Therefore, eliminating art courses is both unnecessary and detrimental. In conclusion, while the view of removing art classes can hold some merits, I ascertain that the negatives of doing so far outweigh the positives. Art subjects in general should be preserved and kept for the young to further develop and enjoy.