Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

The last decade experienced a boost in the number of people starting their own. Technology can be one of the reasons for the increase in self-employed numbers, however, those can face several adverse consequences such as higher stress levels in difficult times and being unable to enjoy days off. It can be said that nowadays running your own business is easier than it was one or two decades ago, and the reason is the technology advancements. When you are an entrepreneur, you will need to know the entire process of your business, meaning that you will have to understand marketing, accounting, and dealing with stakeholders and customers. Technology can assist a lot, this is in the light of the fact that there are programs and apps for every step of the production line, consequently, the owner can focus on their expertise and rely less on others. It seems that having your own business brings the advantage of easily managing your personal and professional life. However, the reality is different because when you run your own company you are responsible for crucial decisions that might negatively impact your stress levels. Another disadvantage of being your boss is that you work 24x7. Many entrepreneurs state that their holidays are constantly interrupted as the owner needs to make vital decisions. To conclude, the world is witnessing a spike in self-employment rates due to technological advancements. Even though it is tempting to follow this path, it is worth keeping in mind that during challenging times it would be difficult to relax as you are the only one who can make decisions. For this same reason, going on vacation could rarely happen.