Many students are now refusing to choose science subjects at their university level. Why do you think this is happening and what is the impact on the community?

It is argued that many students are less likely to study science courses at university. This essay discusses the misunderstanding of science applications as one of the reasons behind this and refers to the reduction of engineers and doctors as a possible huge impact of it on society. There are some wrong beliefs about science and theory lessons. Unfortunately, this happens when students enter the school and attend a lot of theory classes. Although these classes may seem to be impractical, they are crucial to form many practical ideas in students minds in the future. Therefore, one of the main reasons behind this trend is that students underestimate the value of these theory lessons. A study conducted at Tehran University in 2020, showed that more than 60% of high school students, having not found those theory lessons useful, decided to not continue their studies in science subjects. One of the possible causes of this lack of interest would be a drop in the number of doctors and engineers. That is, if universities have fewer students entering science subjects, there would be fewer graduates from these subjects leading to a lack of manpower in many areas. For instance, in my country Iran, it is anticipated that by 2030, it would be a need to import doctors from other countries due to the lack of interest in studying medicine. In conclusion, the misunderstanding behind the use cases of theoretical lessons can cause students to refuse to study science subjects and the need for manpower would be a possible consequence of it in the future.