Several languages are in danger of extinction because they are spoken by very small numbers of people. Some people say that governments should spend public money on saving these languages, while others believe that would be a waste of money. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

One of the global problems contains aspects that potentially make many languages disappear, nowadays we have many languages that are used by very small numbers. Some people think that for solving this problem governments should spend public money on saving these languages, while others believe that would be a waste of money. Let’s consider both of these views. On the one hand, we can see the case where these rare languages are saving the tendency of slowly dying while governments do not do anything with this situation. In this case, we can lose a piece of culture that includes, for example, literature or traditional celebrations. Therefore, in the past we had many colonized countries, which is why many African countries nowadays are English-speaking and French-speaking. The same situation is in Eastern Europe: because of Soviet’s colonization many non-Russian-speaking countries have the biggest part that can speak and understand Russian. I believe that this is not normal; Latvians should speak Latvian, Ukrainians should speak Ukrainian, Kenyans should speak Swahili etc. That is why the government should spend public money on saving national languages, we have to try for saving our historical languages. On the other hand, we can meet many financial problems because of spending the biggest part of public money for solving this problem, but in any case, I think that politics can find the cheaper way for it. Also, we should not forget about giving a choice to citizens, perhaps some prefer speaking a different language, their native language not their cup of tea. We also should consider and advantages of this opinion too, a knowledge of French, for example in Kongo, can give Kongo’s population an opportunity to move to France. It can help in cases where there are no universities in the country that can teach neurosurgery, but in France they are, and Kongo’s applicants can not learn French from the beginning. Therefore, in,France many immigrants from Africa and I believe that they are satisfied with their new lifestyle, and they have a better level of life than they had in their hometowns. Finally, I can say that saving rare languages is our duty, but sometimes solving this problem can be not that useful. It does not mean that we can forget about it. We have to deal with this problem within reason.