Some people think that employers should not care about the way their employees dress, because what matters is the quality of their work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a controversial perspective heating up a debate over that it is not essential for employers to take how their employees dress into consideration since job productivity is the major final aim. I partially uphold this notion. Without a shadow of a doubt, some people hold a strong view that wearing a uniform irrelevant to one’s work performance and will not cause any negative impacts in the workplace. This can be true since what people are wearing does not contribute directly to most of things they do at work. For example, Facebook and Google are one of some large enterprises that do not restrict how people dress at work because their employees have to spend most of their time at a computer or a desk and what ever they wear, may it be formal, casual, or semi-casual, it does not change the level of proficiency. Thus, some companies may not be affected by how their employees dress. While the outfits of employees do not do harm to some firms, it may result in some undesirable problems regarding some certain jobs. Having a smart outlook can facilitate the overall assessment of a company by its customers, potentially leading to an increase in revenue and profit. For instance, as a receptionist, a career which relates directly to an enterprise’s first impression so they must dress formally for customers and guests to put more trust in the company. Hence, a certain type of job like receptionist requires people to dress properly so it cannot worsen the company’s productivity. In conclusion, although one’s clothing preference or dress code at work does not directly influence productivity, its relevance is worth considering depending on the nature of work.