A rise in the standard of living in a country often only seems to benefit cities rather than rural areas. What problems can this cause? How might these problems be reduced?

An increase in the standard of living in a specific State apparently is an advantage just for those who inhabitate in cities, but not for those who live in rural zones. This essay aims to explain some of the negative consequences of this issue and a few solutions that can contribute to tackle them. One of the repercussions that this phenomenon can imply is the growth of the economic gap: those who live in the urban areas will probably have a higher income and a better lifestyle in comparison with those who inhabitate in the countryside. The aforementioned situation is a consequence of the development of the industries in the former. For instance, in Colombia, the biggest part of the country’s commerce is located in the main cities, such as Bogota and Medellin; therefore, it is in those places where the highest wages are reported. The public services quality is another factor that can be impacted by this worrisome situation. The government and investors are usually focused on improving the living conditions of the cities because there is where businesses are located. For example, the water and electricity services can be easily found in the biggest cities, while that is not the case of the small towns. The burden of the responsibility to solve these problems lies in the hands of the government because it is in charge of the soil use. Consequently, it must take some measures in order to alleviate this situation. For example, it could enact a law that reduces taxes to those enterprises who operate in rural areas. Besides, it could create public policies with the aim of increasing the inclusion of the countryside population in the country’s planning, for it to have better public services. In conclusion, despite the fact that the increase in the average way of living tends to have a less positive impact in those who live in the rural areas, this a panorama that can improve by implementing some governmental measures. Those must have the objective of amelliorating the living conditions of these individuals.