Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. One of the modern discussions is finding the best way of students ’ education. Many people think that all university students should attend lessons which will be used by them in the future, while others say that students should study whatever they like. I prefer the second variant and now aim to dissect this proposition further. Firstly, pupils are responsible enough to make a mature choice in their study program, therefore study programs will become more optional than if their schedule is made without their opinion. Also, if students will only take study credits that they really want they will not have any uncomfortable occasions. We should also not forget about their mental health, and if we will make students study subjects that are not their cup of tea some may potentially suffer from mental burnout. However, there is a disadvantage, which I suppose is not really important; if the students will study a subject that we will include in their study program perhaps they might become more well-rounded compared to the option where they learn whatever they want to learn. Secondly, the variant with makes pupils do many unwanted studies is really dangerous because of several reasons. The first reason includes the human factor: some may lose interest in learning their profession, because of overloading on unloved subjects. The second reason lies in the fact that pupils physically have no chance of remembering all information that they study and finally they may forget important skills in their speciality. Therefore, this could not be a winning plan anyway. In conclusion, I can say that we should not force students to learn only specific skills, but give them the right to make choices.